Los Angeles Updates Minimum Wage Poster
In April 2017, Los Angeles updated its Los Angeles Minimum Wage and Paid Sick Leave official notice poster to include the following changes:
- Employers of 25 or fewer employees must pay $10.50 per hour effective July 1, 2017.
- Employers of 26 or more employees must pay $12.00 per hour effective July 1, 2017.
The notice must be posted in a conspicuous place at any workplace or jobsite in Los Angeles. Violators are subject to penalties.
The changes are effective July 1, 2017.
View the updated Poster
Paid Sick Leave FAQ Updates in L.A., S.D., and the DLSE
In April 2017, the City of Los Angeles, the City of San Diego, and the California Department of Labor Standards Enforcement (DLSE) updated their frequently asked questions (FAQs) in regard to local and state sick leave requirements. The updated Los Angeles FAQs address all of the following:
- The local minimum wage and paid sick leave ordinance by clarifying that the ordinance does not apply to exempt employees.
- How employers must calculate sick leave (in the same manner as regular rate of pay or by dividing total wages, excluding overtime) by total number of hours worked in the full pay periods during the last 90 days of employment).
- Application of the law to smaller employers effective July 1, 2017 (the law will apply to employers with 25 or fewer nonexempt employees working in the city).
- Sick leave request notice requirements.
The updated San Diego FAQs address all the following:
- The city’s earned sick leave ordinance does not apply to salaried employees.
- Employers must comply with state law (mandating sick leave to most employees).
The DLSEs FAQs address all the following:
- Grandfathered plans and how such plans will comply with state law.
- Rate of pay and that state law does not impact how employers are required to compensate employees under existing paid time off plans for leave that is “other than paid sick leave”.
- The impact of state paid sick leave on employer attendance policies.
The Los Angeles FAQs were updated on March 1, 2017; the San Diego FAQs were updated on April 21, 2017; and the DSLE FAQs were updated on March 29, 2017.
On March 27, 2017, the California Fair Employment and Housing Council (FEHC) adopted a new Cal. Code Regs. tit. 2, § 11017.1 establishing criteria for the use and consideration of criminal history in employment decisions and when such use and consideration constitutes a violation of the California Fair Employment and Housing Act.
This regulatory action is effective on July 1, 2017.