Florida Employment Law Update – October 2016
Minimum Wage Increase
On October 15, 2016, the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity announced that the state minimum wage will increase to $8.10 per hour on January 1, 2017. Employers must also pay tipped employees an increased direct wage of $5.08 per hour. Employees must be paid the hourly state minimum wage for all hours worked in Florida.
The increases take effect January 1, 2017.
Read the FLDEO Announcement