Workers’ Compensation Changes
On April 26, 2016, Georgia Governor Nathan Deal signed legislation (H.B. 818) amending the state’s workers’ compensation law. The law:
- Increases the maximum average weekly wage from $550 to $575 per week (but maintain minimum temporary total disability exposure at $50 per week, unless the weekly wage is below $50).
- Increases the temporary partial disability maximum from $367 to $383 per week.
- Increases total compensation payable under O.C.G.A. § 34-9-265 for compensation in a dea th claim from $220,000 to $230,000.
- Makes the Board’s Administrative Law Judges subject to the Georgia Code of Judicial Conduct.
- Requires employers seeking to be designated as self-insured to provide the board “sufficient information for the Board to make an adequate assessment of the employer’s workers’ compensation exposure and liabilities.”
- Makes additional revisions to the Self-Insurer’s Guaranty Trust Fund.
The law goes into effect on July 1, 2016.
Read GA H.B. 818