Minnesota Employment Law Update-September 2017

Minnesota

Minimum Wage Increase

The Minnesota Department of Labor has announced that the state’s minimum wage rates will be adjusted for inflation on January 1, 2018 as follows:

  • The minimum wage for large employers (any enterprise with an annual gross revenue of $500,000 or more) will increase from $9.50 to $9.65 per hour.
  • The minimum wage for small employers (any enterprise with an annual gross revenue of less than $500,000) will increase from $7.75 to $7.87 per hour.
  • The 90-day training wage will increase from $7.75 to $7.87 per hour.
  • The youth (under 18 years of age) wage will increase from $7.75 to $7.87 per hour.

Under Minnesota law, the commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry is required to determine and announce the inflation-adjusted minimum-wage rate each year by August 31.