New Jersey Employment Law Update – November 2018
Earned Sick Leave Guidance
On October 29, 2018, the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development (NJDOL) created a website for the state’s Earned Sick Leave Act that contains all of the following:
- Information for employers and employees.
- Notice of employee rights.
- Information in additional languages, including English, Arabic, Chinese (simplified and traditional), Guajarati, Haitian Creole, Hindi, Italian, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Spanish, and Tagalog.
- Employee wage claim form.
The NJDOL stated that it will update this site as additional information becomes available.
The act took effect on October 29, 2018.
See the website
Earned Sick Leave FAQs
In October 2018, the New Jersey Department of Labor released earned sick leave frequently asked questions to help employers implement and understand the state’s earned sick leave law.
Compliance with the law began on October 29, 2018.
Read the FAQs
State Paid Sick Leave Pre-Empts Localities
On October 29, 2018, the New Jersey Earned Sick Leave Law became effective and pre-empted all local paid sick leave ordinances. Prior to the 29th, these New Jersey localities had paid sick leave ordinances in place, all of which will be superseded by the new ordinance:
- East Orange.
- Jersey City.
- New Brunswick.
The New Jersey Earned Sick Leave Law allows employees to accrue one hour of earned sick leave for every 30 hours worked, up to 40 hours each year. The law permits employers to create policies that provide additional leave time. However, the law prohibits New Jersey cities, towns, and counties from enacting or enforcing their own paid sick and safe leave requirements.
Read more on the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development website