Sick Time Law Amended
On June 29, 2017, Oregon Governor Kate Brown signed legislation (S.B. 299) making the following clarifications:
- Employers may cap annual accrual of sick time at 40 hours and can limit total accrual and annual use of sick time.
- Employers with preexisting policies that provide more than 40 hours of paid time off per year must ensure the policy complies with the sick time law for the first 40 hours in a year and are not required to track why employees are absent.
- The law does not apply to an employer with only a seasonal farm stand or trailer used temporarily on a construction site for office purposes only.
- The law does not cover corporate directors, LLC members, LLP partners, and sole proprietors.
The law became effective July 1, 2017.
Read OR S.B. 299
On June 14, 2017, Oregon Governor Kate Brown signed legislation (S.B. 1040) permitting an employer or labor organization anywhere in state to execute and apply an agreement requiring membership in a labor organization as a condition of employment to the full extent allowed by federal law.
The law became effective on June 14, 2017.
Read OR S.B. 1040