Rhode Island Employment Law Update – January 2019
Minimum Wage Increase and Poster
On January 1, 2019, the Rhode Island hourly minimum wage rate increased to $10.50 per hour, with the following exceptions:
- The hourly minimum wage rate is $9.45 for full-time students under age 19 working in a nonprofit religious, educational, librarial, or community services organization.
- The hourly minimum wage rate is $7.88 for minors ages 14 and 15 working not more than 24 hours in a week.
- The hourly minimum wage rate is $3.89 for employees receiving gratuities (this rate took effect on January 1, 2017).
The state also updated its minimum wage poster to reflect these increases.
See the poster