Wyoming Employment Law Update — March 2019
Child Labor Law Violations
On February 27, 2019, Wyoming Governor Mark Gordon signed legislation (H.B. 163) clarifying the penalties for the state’s child labor law violations. Accordingly, any person employing any child or children in violation of law, or any child subject to the law, who willfully and intentionally violates it, or any person who permits a violation, is guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction will be punished by a fine of up to $750, imprisonment for up to 100 days, or both. However, the law does not prevent a child who is younger than age 14 from being employed in a nonhazardous occupation outside of school hours by his or her parents, grandparents, or legal guardian (family member), or by a business owned by a family member.
The law is effective July 1, 2019.
Read WY H.B. 163