Tag: Minimum Wage

At ThinkHR, knowledge makes us tick. Be in the know with 10 of the stories that caught our eye this month. Pride in the Workplace June is Pride Month, and as many brands and corporations fly the rainbow flag, it’s also a good time to take a look at how your company is supporting LGBTQ…

City of San Leandro Minimum Wage Poster Updated In May 2019, the City of San Leandro updated its official minimum wage notice to reflect the city’s rate increase to $14 per hour. Beginning July 1, 2019, employers who operate a business or nonprofit organization in San Leandro must pay each employee a wage of not…

Minimum Wage Increase On May 28, 2019, Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont signed legislation (H.B. 5004) incrementally increasing the state’s minimum fair wage to: $11 per hour effective October 1, 2019. $12 per hour effective September 1, 2020. $13 per hour effective August 1, 2021. $14 per hour effective July 1, 2022. $15 per hour effective…

Employment Discrimination On May 21, 2019, Nevada Governor Steve Sisolak signed legislation (S.B. 177) adding the following regarding right-to-sue notices and damage awards: Complainants alleging an unlawful discriminatory employment practice must receive a right-to-sue notice from the Nevada Equal Rights Commission if requested and if at least 180 days have passed since the complaint was…

Employer Accommodation for Pregnancy Act On May 22, 2019, Oregon Governor Kate Brown signed legislation (H.B. 2341) enacting the state’s Employer Accommodation for Pregnancy Act and amending the state’s civil rights law. Under the act, based on an employee or applicant’s known limitations related to pregnancy, childbirth, or a related medical condition, including but not…

Wage Mandate On March 26, 2019, North Dakota Governor Doug Burgum signed legislation (H.B. 1193) prohibiting a political subdivision from enacting, maintaining, or enforcing a living wage mandate greater than the state’s minimum wage. Currently, the North Dakota minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour. The law is effective August 1, 2019. Read ND H.B….

Minimum Wage Act On April 10, 2019, Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson signed legislation (H.B. 1751) amending the Arkansas Minimum Wage Act as follows: Repealing Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-204, law most favorable to employees applicable. Amending Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-213, allowance for furnishing board, lodging, apparel, etc. as follows: Certain employers are entitled to…

Minimum Wage and Direct Sales On April 3, 2019, Indiana Governor Eric Holcomb signed legislation (S.B. 231) excluding a direct seller from the definition of “employee” under the state’s minimum wage law and unemployment compensation system, except under certain conditions. A direct seller is a person engaged in only services performed by a person that…

Domestic Service in Minimum Wage Act On April 4, 2019, New Mexico Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham signed legislation (S.B. 85) amending the New Mexico Minimum Wage Act to remove the exception of domestic service from wage protections. The law is effective June 14, 2019. Read NM S.B. 85 Medical Marijuana and Employment Protections On April…

Poster Update On April 1, 2019, the Nevada Office of the Labor Commissioner updated the following bulletins for 2019: Annual Minimum Wage; and Annual Daily Overtime. The state’s minimum wage and overtime rates are unchanged from 2018 even though the bulletins were updated. Specifically, as of July 1, 2019, the state’s minimum wage rates remain $7.25…