Tag: Nevada

Poster Update The Nevada State Labor Commissioner updated its mandatory Rules to Be Observed by Employers poster. Every employer must post the updated poster regarding Nevada wage and hour laws, and keep it conspicuously posted in or about the premises where any employee is employed. The updated revision date is August 3, 2018. See the…

Employers May Pay Lower-Tier Minimum Wage if Health Insurance Offered According to the May 31, 2018 Nevada Supreme Court opinion in MDC Restaurants, LLC v. The Eighth Judicial Dist. Court, 134 Nev. Op. 41, an employer may pay the Minimum Wage for Working Nevadans Act’s lower-tier minimum wage ($7.25 per hour) to an employee if…

Minimum Wage and Overtime Unchanged for 2018 On April 1, 2018, the Nevada Office of the Labor Commissioner released its annual minimum wage and overtime bulletins. These rates are unchanged from 2017 and are as follows: A minimum wage of no less than $7.25 per hour for employees to whom qualifying health benefits have been…

Question: A former employee in Nevada is now alleging we owe him overtime pay. We have no time records indicating overtime is owed and he was paid above minimum wage, but he is producing what appears to us as altered time cards. How should we respond? Answer: Generally, in Nevada, an employer must pay time…