South Dakota Employment Law Update – August 2016
Ballot Measure to Decrease Minimum Wage of Employees Under 18
In the November 8, 2016 General Election, South Dakota voters will be asked to determine whether or not to reduce the minimum wage for employees under 18.
Current South Dakota law requires employers to pay all non-tipped employees a minimum wage (currently $8.55 per hour). State law also requires that the minimum wage be adjusted, effective on January 1 of each year, by any increase in the cost of living as measured by the U.S. Department of Labor’s Consumer Price Index.
Referred Law 20, if approved, would lower the existing state minimum wage to $7.50 per hour for non-tipped employees under age 18. In addition, no annual cost-of-living wage adjustment would be required for the youth minimum wage. The referred law would also prohibit employers from taking any action to displace an employee or reduce an employee’s hours, wages, or benefits, in order to hire someone at the youth minimum wage.
Read Referred Law 20