West Virginia Employment Law Update – April 2017
Increased Penalties for Violating the Whistle-Blower Law
Passed on April 5, 2017 and signed by West Virginia Governor Jim Justice on April 18, 2017, legislation (H.B. 2006) was enacted that increases the penalties for violations of the Whistle-Blower Law from $500 to $5,000 and makes the civil fine one of personal liability. The law also removes the authority of the court to suspend a person from public service, authorizes discipline by the person’s employer upon a finding of violation by the court, and authorizes termination from employment as a potential discipline.
The law is effective 90 days from passage (projected July 4, 2017).
Read WV H.B. 2006