Tag: Arkansas

Empower Independent Contractors Act of 2019 On April 16, 2019, Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson signed legislation (H.B. 1850) enacting the Empower Independent Contractors Act of 2019. Under the act, an employer or agency must use the IRS 20-factor test (listed below) in determining the employment status of an individual. Employment status is the status of…

Minimum Wage Act On April 10, 2019, Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson signed legislation (H.B. 1751) amending the Arkansas Minimum Wage Act as follows: Repealing Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-204, law most favorable to employees applicable. Amending Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-213, allowance for furnishing board, lodging, apparel, etc. as follows: Certain employers are entitled to…

Arkansas Minimum Wage Increases On November 6, 2018, Arkansas voters approved the Arkansas Minimum Wage Increase Initiative (Issue 5), which will incrementally raise the state’s minimum wage, per Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-210(a), as follows: $9.25 per hour effective January 1, 2019. $10 per hour effective January 1, 2020. $11 per hour effective January 1,…

The midterms are over and my mail is no longer filled with HUGE political direct mail pieces that hide my favorite magazines and my 20-percent-off-one-item coupons to a store that has EVERYTHING anyone could possibly need. Anyhow, yesterday was a busy day at ThinkHR as we analyzed the ballot measures, notifying our customers same-day about…