Tag: California

City of San Leandro Minimum Wage Poster Updated In May 2019, the City of San Leandro updated its official minimum wage notice to reflect the city’s rate increase to $14 per hour. Beginning July 1, 2019, employers who operate a business or nonprofit organization in San Leandro must pay each employee a wage of not…

Thursday, May 16, 2019, 10 a.m. Pacific/ 1 p.m. Eastern Do you still have questions about how to comply with the California or New York harassment prevention training mandates? Join ThinkHR’s free 45-minute live Q&A webinar and get answers from attorney and compliance expert, Preston Clark. Register now and submit your questions. During the webinar,…

Updated DFEH Form and Poster In March 2019, the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH) released the following updated form and poster: Certification of Health Care Provider Form for California Family Rights Act (CFRA) or Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA). Family Care and Medical Leave and Pregnancy Disability Leave poster. This is…

Updated Poster and Handbook Policy Effective April 1, 2019, per Cal. Code Regs. tit. 2 § 11095, both of the following are required (as applicable): Every employer covered by the California Family Rights Act (CFRA) and/or New Parent Leave Act (NPLA) is required to post and keep posted on its premises, in conspicuous places where employees…

Thanks to new training mandates in California, New York, and Delaware, more employees will be trained on sexual harassment and discrimination prevention in 2019 than ever before. Previous harassment prevention training mandates, like California A.B. 1825, focused primarily on teaching supervisors about reporting responsibilities and what constitutes harassment. As a result, the majority of compliance…

Payroll Processors and Paycheck Errors On February 7, 2019, California Supreme Court decision in Goonewardene v. ADP, LLC, Cal. (No. S238941) found that an independent payroll service provider (payroll company) may not be held liable by employees for paycheck errors. This case presented the question of whether, when an employer hires a payroll company to take…

As we reported in October 2018, California Governor Jerry Brown signed Senate Bill 1343 modifying the California Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA) sexual harassment training requirements. We previously covered the requirements on our blog. Since that time, the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH) has provided the following resources: Online Resources Page for Employers…

FMCSA and Commercial Motor Vehicle Driver Meal and Rest Breaks On December 27, 2018, the federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) announced that it granted petitions submitted by the American Trucking Associations and the Specialized Carriers and Rigging Association requesting a determination that California’s meal and rest break rules (MRB rules) are pre-empted under federal…

2019 San Jose Minimum Wage Increase The City of San Jose announced that beginning January 1, 2019, employers subject to the San Jose Business License Tax or that maintain a facility in San Jose must pay to each employee who performs at least two hours of work per week in San Jose at least $15…

City of Mountain View Minimum Wage Increase In November 2018, the City of Mountain View announced that employers who are subject to the Mountain View Business License Tax or who maintain a facility in Mountain View must pay to each employee who performs at least two hours of work per week in Mountain View, minimum…