Tag: Delaware

Thanks to new training mandates in California, New York, and Delaware, more employees will be trained on sexual harassment and discrimination prevention in 2019 than ever before. Previous harassment prevention training mandates, like California A.B. 1825, focused primarily on teaching supervisors about reporting responsibilities and what constitutes harassment. As a result, the majority of compliance…

Equal Rights Amendment to State Constitution On January 16, 2019, Delaware Governor John Carney signed legislation (H.B. 1) amending the Delaware Constitution’s Bill of Rights by adding Section 21, which declares that the equality of rights under the law must not be denied or abridged on account of sex. The amendment took effect on January…

Robin Shea, partner with leading national labor and employment law firm (and ThinkHR strategic employment law partner) Constangy, Brooks, Smith & Prophete, LLP, provides a summary of what you may have missed over the holiday break. EEOC, court kick “Onionhead” employer while it’s down A federal judge in New York ruled on post-trial motions filed by…

Sexual Harassment Notice On November 14, 2018, the Delaware Department of Labor, Division of Industrial Affairs released its mandatory sexual harassment information sheet as required by the Delaware Discrimination in Employment Act. A law against sexual harassment passed in 2018 extends protections to all individuals in all workplaces, including employees, applicants, apprentices, staffing agency workers,…

State WARN Act Adopted On July 11, 2018, Delaware Governor John Carney signed legislation (H.B. 409) establishing the Delaware Workplace Adjustment and Retraining Notification Act (DE WARN Act). The law directs employers with 100 or more employees (excluding part-time employees), or 100 or more employees that work in the aggregate at least 2,000 hours per…

Minimum Wage Increase and Updated Poster On September 28, 2018, the Delaware Department of Labor released an updated labor law poster covering: Payment of wages. Minimum wage, with the following increases: Regular Rate: Effective January 1, 2019, the regular rate increases to $8.75 per hour. Effective October 1, 2019, the regular rate increases to $9.25…

Small Employer Health Insurance On September 4, 2018, Delaware Governor John Carney signed legislation (H.B. 406) allowing small employers with more than five employees to obtain a stop-loss policy for health insurance to provide more options for small employers in the health insurance market. The law became effective September 4, 2018. See DE H.B. 406…

Training and Youth Wages On July 1, 2018, Delaware Governor John Carney signed legislation (H.B. 483b) creating a training and youth wage that may be up to $.50 less than the state’s minimum wage. The training wage applies to workers age 18 and older during the first 90 consecutive calendar days of their initial employment….