Tag: Oregon

Statewide Transit Tax and Employer Requirements The 2018 legislative session amended portions of the Statewide Transit Tax (OR H.B. 2017, enacted in 2017). Subsequent to these amendments, on July 1, 2018 employers must begin withholding the transit tax (one-tenth of 1 percent or .001) from both: ​ The wages of Oregon residents (regardless of where the…

Minimum Wage Rate Notice The Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries released an updated minimum wage rate notice that must be conspicuously posted in the workplace. The poster provides notice that effective July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2019 employees must be paid at least the minimum wage rate for the region where the employer…

Oregon Consumer Identity Theft Protection Act Amended On April 12, 2018, Oregon Governor Kate Brown signed legislation (S.B. 1551) amending the state’s Consumer Identity Theft Protection Act. The amended law requires reporting of a security breach that involves personal information within 45 days of its discovery, that breach victims be offered free credit monitoring services or…